RSS Feed

“Study, buddy!” + OB EOP, E3, and COE’s 5th Year Online!

Posted on

It’s crunch time, people…which is why I haven’t been writing here recently. Tomorrow and/or the day after, my Obstetrics and Gynecology End of Posting exams for 6th will start. As per usual, I have one clinical long case exam and a written one. I feel ready. Been studying with my friend for about three weeks non-stop.

Speaking of which, I haven’t really mentioned him in this blog before. “Zim” is one of my close friends and a really good study partner. I mean really, we medical students can’t survive without asking each other on the spot…questions like “what is the management of Endometriosis?” in this case. The trick here is good chemistry. Really good chemistry. You don’t need a bookworm study buddy or your best friend in the same field to help you. After all, your best friend can be your worst enemy when it comes to studying. Either he rants on about life situations and jokes around or becomes too strict…and either way he’ll somehow blame you for not progressing. Sadly, I had those experiences with other good friends of mine. I found Zim, however, to be great! It’s a matter of balancing each other out, asking questions constantly, creating a smooth vibe, finishing each other’s sentences when it comes to analyzing cases, and having a fun time. I’m glad that we hype each other up or else I would’ve never worked this hard alone and would’ve had a negative idea of studying with a partner. After all, my 41/50 in pediatrics was–after God’s support–thanks to studying with a partner.

Unfortunately for me, E3 2009 will be starting today as well. I won’t have time to completely catch up with this awesome gaming expo until Thursday. Also, in case you haven’t noticed, 4 of my Project COE crew will be attending E3 this year. I’ve setup a wordpress blog so that we can update seamlessly since our new site isn’t quite ready yet. You can check it out here:

http://www.projectcoe.com/blog

Keep in mind that this will be the very first time our group will meet each other face-to-face. I did technically meet Jarrod in Montreal two summers ago, but that was more personal obviously. I’m sure that they’ll have lots of fun. Just keep checking the blog above for live updates.

Finally, as of today (my time), it’s Project COE’s 5th year online! Talk about overkill. My exam, E3, and this all in the same time! Too bad we don’t have anything special planned due to E3 plans, but I’m sure our crew will find time to celebrate there…and we can always whip something up as soon as they return next week.

As always, later days, people. I’ll update you guys with my progress as soon as I can.

About Ahmed Mosly

A medical undergraduate and a hardcore gamer? How does that even work? Is it even possible? Evidently, yes it is. Hope your brain doesn't explode from the awesomeness. I'm indeed both of these things despite my lack of proper time management skills. The scale isn't balanced either...at times it will shift to one side more than the other. I'm happy though. So...what's my story, you ask? You won't find it the most original tale ever...but then again, all gamers start out the same. Perhaps the biggest twist in my story is that I'm from Saudi Arabia. Yes...you read that right. We do have hardcore gamers here...it's not just desert, camels, and tents as some of you may assume. Remember, assuming too much makes an ass out of you and me (ass-u-me). I've been gaming for 20 years now...ever since the NES was given to me as a birthday present when I was 5 (thanks, Mom and Dad!). Upon discovering the internet in the late 90s, the inner workings of the gaming community and industry made much more sense to me. At first, it was limited to being a fan of what I love most and reading facts from afar (a.k.a. writing Zelda fanfiction). Then in 2003, I stumbled upon Nintendo of America's official forums (Hyrule Town Square) and things started evolving from there. The community promoted me and thought that my passionate ramblings were unique. As that community grew (becoming known as Nsider eventually), I grew with it...until I met the duo of Jarrod Nichol and William Cook, two other fans who ran a column called "Iris Network" that covered rumors. They actually talked about one particular rumor I discovered back in the day. I started conversing with Jarrod more, discovering that we were both passionate about the same games (Zelda, anything from Square-Enix). Turns out that Jarrod was deeply involved in the gaming industry, and that's where I learned the basics. His passion of making his own independent site became a reality in 2004. Luckily he invited me to join the ride...and what a ride it has been! I've jumped around here in Project COE, taking part in many positions and not limiting myself to a specific task. Is there even an official title for someone like me? Either way, I'll keep on doing what I'm doing and hope for the best.

Leave a Reply

